Dental Medicine Resources: Find Books

Information Resources & Research Help for Dental School students

Finding Books

The library houses tons of books that students, faculty, and staff can use in their research. This page will help you find book in the library.

Search Everything @ SIUE: Books

Search Everything @ SIUE: I-Share

Library Search

Search Everything in the Library here:

Where is my book?

After locating a book on the online catalog, you can find the book's call number under "LOCATION ITEMS".

Find the location of your book by identifying which floor your call number is located.

First Floor: Browsing Collection

Second Floor: Call numbers A - K

Third Floor: Call Numbers L - Z

To locate your book, start by locating the letter or set of letters at the beginning of your call number. Notice that N comes before ND.

Then, locate the numbers following the letters.

Treat these as full numbers.

Use the database below to find books related to a variety of nursing topics.

Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Medicine, pharmacology and health sciences
CONTENTS: text, images. COVERAGE: 30+ electronic books on various health related topics. DATES: latest editions. UPDATES: varies. VENDOR: Ovid.
CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
All subjects
CONTENTS: text. COVERAGE: 414+ electronic reference books. DATES: varies. UPDATES: varies. VENDOR: CREDO.
Ebook Central (formerly ebrary) This link opens in a new window
All subjects
CONTENTS: text. COVERAGE: growing number of ebooks. DATES: varies. VENDOR: Ebook Library.
Terms of Use
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
All subjects
CONTENTS: citations, text, images. COVERAGE: 7,000+ electronic books. DATES: varies by title. UPDATES: daily. VENDOR: EBSCO.
Free Books4Doctors This link opens in a new window
Medicine and health sciences
CONTENTS: text, images. COVERAGE: 650 free online full-text medical texts in multiple languages and browsable by specialty or title. DATES: varies. UPDATES: varies. VENDOR: Amedeo.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Business, education, literature, medicine, religion, science, social sciences, and technology
CONTENTS: text. COVERAGE: 30+ electronic reference books, including the International Directory of Company Histories (v.1/1988 -) and World Literature and its Times (v.1 - 8/ 1999 - 2006). DATES: varies. UPDATES: as titles added. VENDOR: Gale.
National Academies Press eBooks This link opens in a new window
The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.
Sage Reference This link opens in a new window
Anthropology; business & management; career development; criminal justice; education; geography; health & medicine; history; political science; psychology; public administration & policy; religion; and more
CONTENTS: text. COVERAGE: more than 70 searchable, full-text reference books. DATES: varies. VENDOR: Sage.

If you have any questions about finding or using the library’s eBooks, see this helpful guide: http://siue.libguides.com/ebooktips.

Help

CREDO Reference

Search through this online collection of encyclopedia and dictionary entries on a variety of science topics, biographies of leading scientists, and more. Great for background information.
Library Catalog
Use the Advanced Search to narrow by date, format (ebook or print), and more.
Library Catalog Help Guide
Find tips on searching, creating your account, and more.
I-SHARE Catalog
Request books from other Illinois libraries. Typically takes 3-5 days.
Interlibrary Loan
Request books not available at Lovejoy or through I-SHARE. Typically takes 5-7 days.

Library & Information Services