Offers practical and strategic advice for anyone doing business today. It is an essential desk reference for managers, MBA and business students and for small business owners worldwide. Also, includes information such as Business Intelligence , Best practice: People and culture ; Marketing ; Strategy and competition ; Finance ; IT/information management ; Systems ; Structure ; Leadership ; Corporate social responsibility and governance ; Renewal and growth ; Productivity ; Personal effectiveness -- Management checklists: People management ; HR and training ; Marketing ; Manufacturing and operations ; Business planning

Presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison. Provides illustrations, photographs and maps. 4 volumes.

A compilation of U.S. Department of State reports on contemporary political and economic conditions, government personnel and policies, political parties, religions, history, education, press, radio and TV, climate, and other characteristics of selected countries of the world; together with travel alerts, passport and visa information, world health information for travelers, and customs and duty tips for returning residents.

The five volumes of this ultimate resource recognize the inherent unity between business ethics and business and society, that stems from their shared primary concern with value in commerce. This Encyclopedia spans the relationships among business, ethics, and society by including more than 800 entries that feature broad coverage of corporate social responsibility, the obligation of companies to various stakeholder groups, the contribution of business to society and culture, and the relationship between organizations and the quality of the environment.

The Encyclopedia of Governance provides a one-stop point of reference for the diverse and complex topics surrounding governance for the period between the collapse of the post-war consensus and the rise of neoliberal regimes in the 1970s. This comprehensive resource concentrates primarily on topics related to the changing nature and role of the state in recent times and the ways in which these roles have been conceptualized in the areas of Political Science, Public Administration, Political Economy, and Sociology.

comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality. The encyclopedia is divided into two volumes: Topics and Cultures. The combination of topical overviews and varying cultural portraits is what makes this encyclopedia a unique reference work for students, researchers and teachers interested in gender studies and cross-cultural variation in sex and gender. It deserves a place in the library of every university and every social science and health department. Contents:- Glossary. Cultural Conceptions of Gender. Gender Roles, Status, and Institutions. Sexuality and Male-Female Interaction. Sex and Gender in the World's Cultures.

This encyclopedia is an essential guide to the different ethno-linguistic groups in Africa and today's complicated Middle East region. * Contains contributions from international scholars and independent researchers who have lived and worked in countries such as Chad, Egypt, Eritrea, Guinea Conakry, Jordan, Lesotho, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Nigeria, Sudan, and Syria * Includes bibliographic information after each entry, photographs, and an index

Online version of long-standing "Europa World Year Book," and a vital source of authoritative information on world affairs, with up-to-date political, economic and other statistical information on over 250 countries and territories.

Entries by American ethnic group. Covers history, food, language, customs, greetings, social and gender dynamics, arts, media, etc.

Whether you are preparing for a long-term overseas assignment or a short trip abroad to meet with clients, customers, suppliers, or distributors, Global Business Etiquette will be an indispensable resource for understanding the dynamics of cross-cultural communication, avoiding embarrassing (and costly) gaffes, and successfully navigating the subtleties of social interaction. Drawing from their many years of research and training in the field; highlighting such important elements of communication as nonverbal gestures, dress, and gift giving customs; and featuring dozens of colorful examples and useful tips; the authors present a practical approach to interpreting signals and symbols around the world, overcoming stereotypes, and mastering the nuances of international communication.
Contents
Preface and acknowledgments -- Travel customs and tips -- Language, greetings, introductions, and business cards -- Socializing -- Gestures and other nonverbal communicators -- Dress and appearance -- Cultural attitudes, behaviors, and customs -- Dining and tipping customs -- Conversational customs and manners -- Oral and written communication customs and etiquette -- Etiquette for international businesswomen -- International negotiation etiquette

Authored by one of the world's leading cross-cultural experts.Invaluable for both business and leisure travelers.Comprehensive and practical coverage.

Thousands of entries provide coverage on every possible food, its history, cultural significance, and culinary usage.

The principal institutional characteristics of each country as they are perceived to affect the workings of business groups. [...]each chapter has a section on issues such as the role of the state; structure of the financial system; patterns of ownership; prevalent firm structures; and labour. [...]the various sections would have benefited from using standard statistics such as: tax revenue as a proportion of GDP (the role of the state); the size of the bank sector, bond market and stock market as a proportion of financial assets (the financial system); and the market value of the largest corporations (ownership and corporate governance). The second section consists of eleven thematic chapters that explore how business systems across Asia are characterized or affected by different issues. [...]there are discussions of topics such as: the composition and structure of business groups; corporate governance; financial systems; multinational corporations; research and development policy; and offshoring.

Street foods run deep throughout human history and show the movements of peoples and their foods across the globe.

Accurate, up-to-date data on development issues? World Development Indicators is the World Bank's premier annual compilation of data about development. This indispensable statistical reference allows you to consult over 900 indicators for some 150 economies and 14 country groups in more than 80 tables. It provides a current overview of the most recent data available as well as important regional data and income group analysis in six thematic sections: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States and Markets, and Global Links.

Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more.
Contents
vol. 1. Africa -- vol. 2. Americas -- vol. 3. Asia and Oceania -- vol. 4. Asia and Oceania -- vol. 5. Europe.

Presents easy-to-understand information on countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.
Contents
V. 1. United Nations -- v. 2. Africa -- v. 3. Americas -- v. 4. Asia & amp; Oceania -- v. 5. Europe.

This is only an example. Type your specific country name after "country Forecast in the Search Everything bar on the library's homepage.

This is only an example. Enter the specific name of the country and the terms Tourism Report.

Provides facilitation communication between insurance and risk management professionals.

To get the complete report for a country, go to the database, Business Source Elite. In the search box, type Political Risk Yearbook and the country name. For example, Political Risk Yearbook and Thailand.

The full report may not be available for your country. However, you can request the report via Interlibrary Loan.

Using the database, Business Source Elite, type the name of the country and term "risk," For example, Argentina and risk.