Skip to Main Content

Library & Information Services Sub Menu Dismiss

Art in the Metro East: SIUE

Links

SPARK Institutional Repository Collections

Check SPARK for its growing number of art-related collections and documents. 

 

SIUE Gallery Schedules

 


The New Wagner Gallery

Located on the first floor of the Art & Design Building near the atrium. 
Hours of operation are Monday - Friday, 8:00 am - 4:30pm. 
For information about exhibits and gallery displays, please call 618-650-3071.
 
Spring Semester 2020
Updating in Progress
 
 

College of Arts and Science

Art and Design

The mission of the Art and Design Department is to:

  • Provide a learning environment rich in the diversity of throught and creative opportunity.
  • A core foundation of skills that students can draw on to produce meaningful and engaging works with divesr objectives, meant for a variety of audiences.
  • A wide range of two-dimensional and three-dimensional course opportunities to enhance a major area of concentration.

The Art and Design Department believes in a strong, broad based liberal arts program to provide studnets with knowledge beyound the arts. Our goals are in line wihtthe desired characteristics and golds of the Collage of Arts and Science.

 

Louis Sullivan Lounge

Take a look at the architectural ornaments around SIUE featuring the works of Louis Sullivan.  These works of art can be found throughout campus and in Lovejoy Library on the 2nd floor (in the Louis Sullivan Lounge).

Digital LIS: Digital Collections and Exhibits

Digital Collections and Exhibits
 
The Alumnus, the official alumni magazine of Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, began publication in 1973. It was published four times a year and featured articles by and about SIUE faculty, graduates, administrators, staff, and students. It ended in 1997 with a special edition featuring historical photographs in honor of SIUE's fortieth anniversary.
 
American Civil War Collection
This digital collection is an assemblage of handwritten letters, songsheets, and military orders. Spanning the entire period of the American Civil War (1861-1865), these items gathered together provide a unique and insightful glimpse into the era.
 

Colket Illustrated Sheet

This digital collection consists of 96 pieces of historic, illustrated sheet music from Lovejoy Library's Gordon Colket Music Collection. Gordon Wright Colket was a dealer in illustrative materials who assembled the collection over a period of six or seven years. Most of the pieces are by 19th century American composers and include detailed cover lithographs. The collection is rich in Civil War vintage pieces. Selected titles are presented with digital audio files of piano performances.

EBR African American Cultural Life
This digital collection contains photographs, posters, and pamphlets selected from the Eugene B. Redmond (EBR) Collection at Lovejoy Library. An Emeritus Professor of English at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, Redmond’s work as a poet, activist, teacher, and mentor has put him in contact with other artists both iconic and unheralded over the last thirty years. The materials here reveal the diversity and support for the cultural and political activities that flourished across the spectrum of African American life from the 1960s to the present.

This digital sheet music collection contains popular titles, most with illustrated covers, in the public domain dating from the early 20th Century.
 
Louis H. Sullivan Ornaments
This digital exhibit features selected Sullivan ornaments owned by SIUE representing thirty-one buildings. They are accompanied by digitized historic photographs by Richard Nickel, provided courtesy of the Richard Nickel Committee. A wide range of types of architectural elements are represented, including pediments, lunettes, columns, and even an elevator.
 
Mississippi River Festival
To honor all those who created and participated in the Mississippi River Festival (1969-1980), the University Archives & Special Collections staff, in collaboration with the Faculty Technology Center, have researched, written, and here assembled a series of projects documenting and interpreting the history of the festival. Included are: a narrated historical slideshow explaining the entire history of the festival; a virtual history museum consisting of a searchable database that includes information about all MRF performances and performers; an alphabetical name index of all MRF artists; digitized version of movies about the 1969 inaugural season and the 1975 season.
 
Muse Yearbooks
Muse is the yearbook of Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, and was published from 1961-1971. This digital collection contains the eleven yearbooks. 
  
Observer Newsletter
The SIUE Observer began life on December 18, 1978, as an administrative newsletter produced by the Office of the President of Southern Illinois University Edwardsville. The publication served primarily as the university administration’s channel of communication to the staff, faculty, and students and as a “publication of record.” Following the issue of March 16, 1999 (volume six, number thirteen), the Observer ceased to appear as a paper publication. The digital collection contains the entire run (647 issues) of the print publication.
 
Plants of SIUe
This digital collection features digital photographs of plant species found on the campus of Southern Illinois University Edwardsville (SIUE). The images are accompanied by descriptions and scientific information. The collection is designed both as a teaching tool for botany students and a resource for lay-people with an interest in plants.
 
Rivers of America 
The Rivers of America book series was one of the most successful publishing ventures in the 20th century. The books combined geography, history, and folklore to produce a regionalist portrait of America. Written by authors from the fields of journalism, botany, history, and biography, each volume included original maps and illustrations. The series ran from 1937 to 1974 and produced 65 volumes. This digital exhibit explores the history and impact of the series and showcases some of the authors and illustrators.
 
The Retrospect is the yearbook of Shurtleff College. The former Shurtleff College campus became the site of SIUE's "Alton Residence Center" in 1957 and the university’s School of Dental Medicine in 1972. This digital collection is comprised of yearbooks for 1911-1932, 1938-1942, and 1948-1956. It also includes a supplement featuring the graduating class of 1957.
 
This digital exhibition spotlights images of women grouped into six thematic categories.The artists represented are drawn from a wide variety of cultures and time periods, ranging from Ancient Egypt and Mesopotamia to Renaissance Italy and Germany to 19th-century India and Japan to 20th-century America and France. Each thematic category features at least one female artist alongside her male counterparts.
 

Contact Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Therese Dickman
Contact:
Lovejoy Library
Office: Room 1056
(Near Instruction Room B)
618-650-2695