Skip to Main Content
Search
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Logo
Apply to SIUE

Library & Information Services Sub Menu Dismiss

  Search, Find & Renew Research Support Services Ask a Librarian About Giving

History 400, Section 4: Home

An overview of the Lovejoy Library Map Collection and some maps you might want to use for your research project.

Lovejoy Library Map Collection

Overview

The Lovejoy Library Map Collection is located on the second floor of the library and includes maps, atlases, and gazetteers. A large portion of the Map Collection is composed of the United States Geological Survey (USGS) topographic series maps.  Additional series from the Forest Service, National Imagery and Mapping Agency (NIMA), and the Illinois Department of Transportation are available. We have also collected many miscellaneous maps for the St. Louis region.

How to browse in the Map Collection

  • Maps
    • Most of the maps are shelved by series, e.g. 7.5 minute topographic maps or census maps. Use the "Map Library" map, found in the Map Library as well as at the Information Desk, to find the series of interest.
    • Maps that are not shelved by series are shelved geographically by Library of Congress call number in sections C5, D1-D8, and C6 on the Map Library map. For these maps, use the UFind catalog or the "Library of Congress Classification Outline" to help you find the call number for the geographical area you are interested in.
  • Atlases
    • The small atlases are in section M on the Map Library map.
    • The oversized atlases are in sections J and K on the Map Library map.
    • Use the "Library of Congress Classification Outline" to help you find the call number for the geographical area you are interested in.

How to search the catalog for maps in the Map Collection

  • Search the catalog for the geography and/or subject of the map that you are interested in. However, be aware that less than 10% of the Map Collection is in the catalog. Starting in about 1997, almost 100% of the collection is in the catalog.
  • Here are some sample subject headings used for maps.

    Edwardsville (Ill.) -- Maps
    Madison County (Ill.) -- Maps
    Illinois -- Maps
    Saint Louis (Mo.) -- Maps
    Middle West -- Maps
    Mississippi River -- Maps

    Lewis and Clark Expedition (1804-1806) -- Maps
    Coal mines and mining --Illinois --Edwardsville Region -- Maps
    Housing --Illinois --Chicago -- Maps
    Discrimination in housing --Illinois --Chicago -- Maps
    African Americans --Housing --Illinois --Chicago -- Maps

Subject Librarian