Skip to main content

Library & Information Services Sub Menu Dismiss

Business Journal Searching: Home

Searching Business Journals & Periodicals

Searching the Business Journal & Periodical Literature

Lovejoy Library licenses two databases specifically designed for searching and mining Business Journals & Periodicals,
namely, ABI/INFORM and Business Source Elite.

To access either of these resources, you can do so from the Library's opening web page.

Business eResources

  1. Under the “Find” section, click on the tab, “Articles, Journals & More."
  2. Next click on the link, “Subject Guides and Databases of Journals and Magazines.”
  3. Type in “Business eResources” within the search box below, 
  4. Click “Find,” and the list of business databases will open.

Alternatively, click on the small A-Z link to open up a complete alphabetic listing of subject guides and databases,
whereupon, you can choose the "Business eResources” list, or you can scroll down to click on and open directly
either “
ABI/INFORM” or “Business Source Elite.”

Here's a screenshot from the Business eResources page.

 

 

 

 

Choosing ABI/INFORM, let's show some search samples from this premier business periodical index database.  Here's a view of the database as it opens. The default search is a keyword search:

 

 

 

A second screen shows ABI/INFORM with the drop-down menu for choosing different fields within which to search, e.g., "Subject," "Company/Org," "Document title," etc.:

 


Next see this screen with search input for searching a topic in a particular publication:
 


Finally, here's a screen shot of a search illustrating a search for scholarly journal
articles within a specific subject and time frame:
 

 

_____________________________________________________________________

Tutorial Demonstration of searching an Industry in ABI/INFORM.

 

For more comprehensive assistance in searching within ABI/INFORM,

please see ProQuest's Training Materials and ABI/INFORM Guide.
_____________________________________________________________________


 

Now look at a couple of screen shots from our other, complementary business
journal database, EBSCOhost's Business Source Elite:

 


 


 

 

Note the following screen showing available drop-down fields, quite similar to ABI/INFORM.

 

 

 


 

 

Within Business Source Elite, EBSCO provides more comprehensive help for various search features.
Simply click on the "Help" tab in the upper right tab of the search screen.