Computer Science: Find Articles

Information Resources & Research Help for Computer Science

Find Computer Science/Engineering Articles

ACM Portal This link opens in a new window
SIUE's license to the resources of the ACM (Association for Computing Machinery); license includes Journals, Magazines, & Transactions, and conference papers.
CONTENTS: citations, abstracts, text, images. COVERAGE: index to books, reports, theses, proceedings, and journals, plus full text of 30+ core computing journals. DATES: index 1954+, text 1985+. UPDATES: ongoing. VENDOR: Association for Computing Machinery.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Resource for discovery and access to almost 3 million full-text documents in Electrical Engineering, Computer Science and Electronics.
CONTENTS: citations, abstracts, text, images. COVERAGE: transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings and all current IEEE standards. DATES: abstracts 1988+, full text 1998+. UPDATES: weekly. VENDOR: IEEE.
Terms of Use
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to journal literature of all disciplines.
ABI/INFORM Complete - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Premier business article database for searching managerial aspects of engineering.
CONTENTS: citations, abstracts, text. COVERAGE: nearly 4,000 worldwide business publications, 60,000+ company profiles, Wall Street Journal. DATES: 1971-current. UPDATES: daily. VENDOR: ProQuest.

Mathematics Databases for Computer Science

These resources can be used to find more advanced scholarly articles.

SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Mathematics and statistics, as well as sciences, medicine, social sciences and education articles.
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
Open access to 1,541,333 e-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Submissions to arXiv should conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned and operated by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution.

Open Access Articles

Example:

Access scientific research online, free of charge, and free of licensing restrictions.

PLoS

Contains full-text of the following open-access, peer-reviewed journals: PLoS Biology, PLoS Medicine, PLoS Computational Biology, PLoS Genetics, and PLoS Pathogens.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
"Categorized, searchable links to free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals."
Scholarly Publishing & Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC)
Find more information and resources related to open access, including author rights, campus open access policies, current news, and more.

Free Databases

ChemWeb
Access to journal abstracts and selected full text articles from Chemistry publishers such as Wiley, Elsevier and Springer. Free registration required for database use.
Espacenet
Database of "more than 50 million patent documents from all over the world" provided by the European Patent Office.
Google Books
Search an index of the world's books, with many of them previewed or provided in full for free.
Google Patents
Search US patents and applications.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
NTIS Goverment Technical Reports
"Serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information. For more than 60 years, NTIS has assured access to approximately 3 million publications covering over 350 subject areas."
Research Square
"Research Square lets you share your work early, gain feedback from the community, and start making changes to your manuscript prior to peer review in a journal. You can also learn about breakthroughs in your field and comment on new discoveries."
Science.gov
"Searches over 50 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 12 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results."
ToxNet
"Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases."
US Copyright Office
Searches "works registered and documents recorded by the U.S. Copyright Office since January 1, 1978."
US Patent and Trademarks Office
Search for US patents and trademarks.
SSRN
SSRN is an open-access online preprint community providing valuable services to leading academic schools and government institutions. Specializing primarily in social sciences, including economics, law, corporate governance, and humanities, SSRN is branching out in to other science disciplines providing opportunities for scholars to post their early research, collaborate on theories and discoveries, and get credit for their ideas before peer reviewed publication.

Important Reference Databases

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
Cross-disciplinary database of some 165+ electronic reference books. For technology, click on "Find a Book," and then scan to "Technology."
CONTENTS: text. COVERAGE: 414+ electronic reference books. DATES: varies. UPDATES: varies. VENDOR: CREDO.

Full-Text Articles

Some of the databases on this page, including Scopus, will provide links to full-text articles. Look for a link that says . Click on this link to be guided to the full-text article if available.

Database Search Tips