Urban Storm Water Management by
Call Number: Book Collection: TD665 .P46 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-28
Covering all elements of the storm water runoff process, Urban Storm Water Management includes numerous examples and case studies to guide practitioners in the design, maintenance, and understanding of runoff systems, erosion control systems, and common design methods and misconceptions. It covers storm water management in practice and in regulation, and reviews shortcomings and suggestions for improvements. It also covers alternative methods such as porous pavements, rain gardens, green roofs and other systems which are becoming increasingly popular and are forming the future of storm water management. Appropriate storm water management and compliance is a necessary, yet costly and involved process. This book provides information, guidelines, and case studies to guide practitioners through all phases of effective structural storm water management. This book covers: All aspects of storm water management--including its impacts on the environment Numerous design procedures and problems with a separate solutions manual Hydrologic and hydraulic calculations involved in the field of storm water management Design and calculation methods required for efficient storm water management Pipe and open channel flow equations, supplemented with charts and tables Various types of nonstructural, source reduction measures Installation methods of drainage and storm water management facilities Urbanization has had a drastic impact on the natural process of storm water runoff; increasing both the peak and the volume of runoff, reducing infiltration, while also degrading water quality. Urban Storm Water Management is a compendium of all matters necessary for the design of efficient drainage and storm water management systems. It includes numerous examples of hydrologic and hydraulic calculations involved in this field. It also contains ample case studies that exemplify the methods and procedures for the design of extended detention basins, infiltration basins, and underground retention/infiltration basins such as chambers and dry wells. Furthermore, the book demonstrates how storm water runoff can be an effective and cost-efficient conservable and reusable resource.