Lovejoy Library floor plan maps can be helpful to locate books by call number. Most criminal justice books are located in the social sciences area on 2nd floor, the northeast side.  The Library of Congress call numbers in this area pertain to social sciences (H), political science (J), and law and justice (K).

Boolean Keyword Searching: 

   Most library databases permit you to: 

·         SEARCH by author, title, subject, keyword 

·         LIMIT search by publication year, language, document types, name of source journal, document type, publication year,         peer-reviewed journals only. 

·         COMBINE search terms using AND, OR, NOT (Boolean connectors).

 For example:

            spotted AND (dog OR puppy) NOT hound 

·         TRUNCATE search terms using symbols such as an asterisk or question mark.  For example: 

crimin*    retrieves criminal, criminals, criminology, etc.              

wom?n     retrieves woman or women 

·         FIND ADJACENT words:

For example:

                                “civil courts”

Print (Lovejoy Library, 2nd floor)

American Dictionary of Criminal Justice: Key Terms & Major Court Cases  (HV7411 .C48 2005)

Black's Law Dictionary  (KF156 .B53 2004) 

Courts & Trials: A Reference Handbook  (KF8719 .S552 2003)

Crime Classification Manual  (HV6253 .C75 2006) 

Criminal Justice (4 vols.)   (KF9214.5 .C75 2006) 

Criminal Justice and Criminology: A Career Guide to Local, State, Federal & Academic Positions (HV9950 .A54 2003) 

Encyclopedia of Criminology (HV6017 .E5295 2005) 

Encyclopedia of DNA and the U. S. Criminal Justice System  (RA1057.55 .P34 2004) 

Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence  (HV6626 .E53 2007) 

Encyclopedia of Forensic Science  (HV8073 .B425 2004) 

Encyclopedia of High-Tech Crime and Crime Fighting  (HV6773 .N48 2004) 

Encyclopedia of Juvenile Violence   (HV9104 .E59 2007) 

Encyclopedia of Police Science  (HV7901 .E53 2007)

Handbook of Forensic Psychology  (RA1148 .H36 2006) 

Illegal Drugs: A Complete Guide to Their History, Chemistry, Use and Abuse  (RC566 .G345 2004) 

Judicial Branch of the Federal Government: People, Process & Politics  (KF8700 .J84 2007) 

Prisons and Prison Systems  (HV8665 .R67 2006) 

Supreme Court Compendium: Data, Decisions, Developments  (KF8742 .S914 2007) 

Other Online: