There are literally hundreds of movie review sites on the Internet. However, although some are more authoritative than others, most are very opinionated. The majority of sites are constructed and maintained by average moviegoers, not critics or film scholars. A few of the more useful and reliable sites are:
From the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, a searchable database of Academy Award nominees and winners.
This site contains reviews and other information on current releases.
This site contains reviews, discussions, critics' picks, and other pertinent information.
This site contains comprehensive plot summaries of 100 "greatest" English language films along with excerpts from the scripts and poster reproductions. Two major sections are:
Internet Movie Database(Librarian's Choice)
This is one of the largest movie sites and provides basic information on film stars and production crews. To search the site click on the SEARCH tab and type in a title. For example, enter American Beauty in the search box and click on the Go button. From the results list select the title of interest. In the Awards & Reviews on the left column, choose External Reviews.
Modern Times: Classic Films Pages
This site contains reviews of films from the 1920's through the 1950's and includes essays, reviews, posters, stills, and movie sound bites.
MRQE (Movie Review Query Engine)
A searchable Web site that provides links to the text of film reviews. Sources include online newspapers, magazines, and film-related Web pages.
TV Guide Online: Movie Database
This site contains costs, credits, and reviews for over 35,000 movies.
Yahoo! Entertainment: Movies and Film: Reviews
This site contains links to an extensive list of movie review sites, ranging from mediocre to great, that link to other sites that review films. Under the sections COLUMNS there are a number of movie review sites.
