Skip to main content

Library & Information Services Sub Menu Dismiss

eBook Tips: Finding eBooks

A guide to eBook platforms at SIUE, terms of use, and connecting with different devices and systems

UFind searching

In most cases, the best place to find eBooks available to the SIUE community is the PrimoVE catalog. The catalog entries for books one PrimoVE will indicate if an eBook is available to Lovejoy users. Also, once you've started a search, you can select the "available online" option under availability and "books" option under resource type in the “Refine your Results” column to the left to search for specifically eBooks. 

eBook LibGuide

You can find a list of our different eBook collections in this guide. Some of these collections cover all subjects, while others are specific to one field or subject. If you know you're looking for a particular interface, or you'd like to browse eBooks on a given subject, this may be a good starting point.

Other databases

You'll also find eBooks while searching other databases. For example, Wiley Online Library and SpringerLink include searchable eBooks. In most cases, you can browse eBooks or limit a search to only include eBooks.

Subject Librarian

Juliet Kerico Gray's picture
Juliet Kerico Gray
Contact:
Lovejoy Library, Office 1054
618.650.3129

Free and Open Access

In addition to the library's holdings, you can take advantage of many freely available texts from these sources.

OAIster
An interface for searching a wide variety of freely available books, articles, dissertations and more.

HathiTrust
A partnership between many university libraries, you can find free books by searching full text and limiting to "full view."

National Academies Press
All of their ebooks can be read for free online. With a free login, you can also download chapters and books.

Project Gutenberg
One of the earliest eBook projects and a great source for free copies of classics.

Open Library
An interface to the published books on archive.org, Open Library provides an easy way to find freely available eBooks.

Internet Archive
A vast archive of online files and documents. The Texts section includes published books and other types of texts.