• Reference content and commentary by  scholars
• Learning Resources area with a  A–Z glossary
• Quick access to the key themes and questions from What Everyone Needs to Know About Islam;
• Links to internet resources
• A guide to Teaching Islam

Core titles included in this database:

• The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art & Architecture (March 2009), a three-volume reference work offering the most comprehensive coverage of Islamic art throughout the world, beginning with the inception of Islam and continuing to the present day
• The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World (March 2009), a new six-volume work covering the full geographical and historical extent of Islam
• The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, available in full on the site with access to archived articles that have been updated in the new Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World
• The Islamic World: Past and Present, an accessible A–Z reference covering key people, events and concepts in Islamic history
• The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, in addition to being an integral part of the cross-searchable site content, all 2,500 entries in this authoritative quick reference are free to the public. Anyone can access or cite Dictionary content by using the on-site browse or major Web search engines
• The Oxford History of Islam, a chaptered work containing authoritative essays by leading Muslim and non-Muslim scholars on the origins of the faith, arts, sciences, and history to the present-day situation of Islam
• What Everyone Needs to Know About Islam, a question-and-answer guide by John L. Esposito, in which he responds to the most commonly asked questions about Muslim culture and Islam with thoughtful, unbiased replies
• Teaching Islam, edited by Brannon M. Wheeler for the American Academy of Religion's Teaching Religious Studies series, this work brings together leading scholars to offer perspectives on how to teach Islam
• Makers of Contemporary Islam, a chaptered work by OISO editor in chief John L. Esposito and senior editor John O. Voll that explores the lives and thought of some of contemporary Islam's most important thinkers
• Two Oxford World's Classics versions of the Qur'an: M.A.S. Abdel Haleem's The Qur'an, a prose translation, and The Koran Interpreted, a renowned verse translation by A.J. Arberry
• Hanna Kassis' Concordance of the Qur'an

Oxford Islamic Studies Online is an authoritative, scholarly database that brings together an informed understanding of the Islamic world.