Register here first and create a username and password. An email confirmation will be sent to you for access to SciFinder Scholar.

A collection of peer reviewed journals in the fields of biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. The collection may be searched without a subscription. Open access content provided.

"bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory..." Started in November of 2013, the archive has a limited number of articles at this time.

Access to journal abstracts and selected full text articles from Chemistry publishers such as Wiley, Elsevier and Springer. Free registration required for database use.

Provides access to genomic and biomedical information.

Database of "more than 50 million patent documents from all over the world" provided by the European Patent Office.

Search an index of the world's books, with many of them previewed or provided in full for free.

Search US patents and applications.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

"medRxiv (pronounced "med-archive") is a free online archive and distribution server for complete but unpublished manuscripts (preprints) in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences."

"Serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information. For more than 60 years, NTIS has assured access to approximately 3 million publications covering over 350 subject areas."

"Research Square lets you share your work early, gain feedback from the community, and start making changes to your manuscript prior to peer review in a journal. You can also learn about breakthroughs in your field and comment on new discoveries."

"Searches over 50 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 12 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results."

"Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases."

Searches "works registered and documents recorded by the U.S. Copyright Office since January 1, 1978."

Search for US patents and trademarks.

SSRN is an open-access online preprint community providing valuable services to leading academic schools and government institutions. Specializing primarily in social sciences, including economics, law, corporate governance, and humanities, SSRN is branching out in to other science disciplines providing opportunities for scholars to post their early research, collaborate on theories and discoveries, and get credit for their ideas before peer reviewed publication.

New to reading scientific articles? View this tutorial created by librarians at Purdue.

Use this PDF handout to determine whether or not an article is scholarly.

Search Lovejoy Library's full text online journal list.

The CAS Registry is the most authoritative collection of disclosed chemical substance information.

These how-to guides show step-by-step examples and include tips for using a variety of features available in SciFinder Scholar.

"Categorized, searchable links to free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals."

Find more information and resources related to open access, including author rights, campus open access policies, current news, and more.