Chemistry 300: Welcome

Welcome!

Don't trust atoms. They make up everything.

From Inorganic Ventures -- Fun for Chemists

Important Library Links

Ask a Librarian
Request assistance from a librarian by email, chat, or phone.
Online Journals by Title
Search Lovejoy Library's full text online journal list.
I-Share Catalog
Search and request books from 91 Illinois libraries.
Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Request articles and books that aren't available at Lovejoy Library.
Zotero
Create a database of citations for bibliographies.

STEM Database Tutorials and Tip Sheets

JStor Tip Sheet
ILLiad Tip Sheet
Ebsco Tip Sheet
SciFinder Scholar Tip Sheet
Sync Zotero and Microsoft Word
Plagiarism Decision Tree
This decision tree is taken directly from the OWL at Purdue website to assist you in understanding when to cite.
Plagiarism Workshop Handout

Find Chemistry Articles

SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
Biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science , pharmacy
First-Time Users Please Click Here and Register
CONTENTS: citations, abstracts. COVERAGE: patent and journal references from all scientific disciplines, substance information, chemical synthesis information, regulated chemicals information, commercially available substances. UPDATES: ongoing. VENDOR: CAS.
ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
Chemistry - Web editions of the most recent issues of the 30+ American Chemical Society journals to which Lovejoy Library subscribes.
CONTENTS: citations, text, images. COVERAGE: web editions of the most recent issues of the 30+ ACS journals to which Lovejoy Library subscribes. DATES: varies. UPDATES: daily. VENDOR: American Chemical Society.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
All subjects
CONTENTS: citations, abstracts, text. COVERAGE: 1700+ journals with 870+ in full text. DATES: 1995+. UPDATES: daily. VENDOR: Elsevier.
Terms of Use
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
CONTENTS: text, images. COVERAGE: portal to 11,600+ journals, monographs, reports and conference proceedings, with 7,000 in full text and nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed. Easily searchable by subject, places and people. DATES: varies. UPDATES: daily. VENDOR: EBSCO
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
All subjects
CONTENTS: citations, holdings. COVERAGE: holdings of almost 44,000 libraries in 86 countries. DATES: 1200 A.D.+. UPDATES: daily. VENDOR: OCLC.

ChemRxiv: The Preprint Server for Chemistry
ChemRxiv (pronounced 'chem-archive') is a free submission, distribution and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas.

STEM/Health Sciences Librarian

Shelly McDavid -- STEM

Email Me

Contact:

Lovejoy Library
Room 1038

(618)650-2377

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science & Information Technology, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Mathematics, Physics

ACS Citation Style

ACS Style Guide

The ACS Style Guide
Call Number: QD8.5 .A25 2006
ISBN: 0841239991

Zotero

Zotero Research Guide
Citation management help and organization with Zotero. Check out our tutorials and guides to help you get started today!

Library & Information Services

Chemistry 300: Welcome

Welcome!

Important Library Links

STEM Database Tutorials and Tip Sheets

Find Chemistry Articles

STEM/Health Sciences Librarian

ACS Citation Style

ACS Style Guide

Zotero