Forensic Sciences: Home

Welcome!

LIS Instruction presentation for Masters in Forensic Science

Find Research Articles

PubMed
Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare systems, and preclinical sciences
CONTENTS: citations, abstracts, text. COVERAGE: 4,500 biomedical journals, magazines, newspapers, and newsletters. DATES: 1966+. UPDATES: Tuesday and Saturday. VENDOR: National Library of Medicine.
CINAHL Plus With Full Text
Nursing and allied health
CONTENTS: citations, abstracts, text. COVERAGE: 1100+ journals and publications. DATES: 1982+. UPDATES: monthly. VENDOR: EBSCO.
JSTOR
All subjects
CONTENTS: citations, abstracts, text, images. COVERAGE: complete archive of 169 major research journals. DATES: varies. UPDATES: daily. VENDOR: JSTOR.
ScienceDirect
All subjects
CONTENTS: citations, abstracts, text. COVERAGE: 1700+ journals with 870+ in full text. DATES: 1995+. UPDATES: daily. VENDOR: Elsevier.
Terms of Use
SAGE Journals Online
Business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine
CONTENTS: citations, text, abstracts. COVERAGE: access to more than 300 SAGE online journals from volume 1, issue 1 (Backfile), as well as current access to 450+ titles (Premier). DATES: 1998. UPDATES: monthly. VENDOR: Sage.
SpringerLink
Mathematics and statistics, as well as sciences, medicine, social sciences and education articles.
Wiley Online Library
Business, education, engineering, science, social science, humanities and arts
CONTENTS: citations, abstracts, text. COVERAGE: Over 1,300 journals and 400 books in full text. DATES: most titles from 1997-. UPDATES: daily VENDOR: Wiley.

Online Journals by Title
Search Lovejoy Library's full text online journal list.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
Research Rabbit
Discovery app which unlocks a completely novel way to search for papers and authors, monitor new literature, visualize research landscapes, and collaborate with colleagues.
Semantic Scholar
Semantic Scholar provides free, AI-driven search and discovery tools, and open resources for the global research community.

Zotero

Zotero allows users to:

1. Gather, store, manage, and share references or citations.

2. Generate bibliographies in numerous citation formats such as APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.

3. Store references online and have accessibility to them wherever internet access is available.

Zotero
Zotero is a free reference management platform designed to collect, store, share, manage and cite sources.
Zotero guide
A guide that explains how to use Zotero for research.

Citation Styles

ACS (American Chemical Society) citation style guide

AMA (American Medical Association) citation style guide (Owl at Purdue)

STEM/Health Sciences Librarian

Shelly McDavid -- STEM

Email Me

Contact:

Lovejoy Library
Room 1038

(618)650-2377

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science & Information Technology, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Mathematics, Physics

Terms and Keywords

Integrated Taxonomic Information System
Identify genus, species, and family information using this authoritative government web site.
MeSH Database
Identify the correct Medical Subject Headings when searching health topics.

Plagiarism

SIUE Plagiarism Policy

"Plagiarism is taking some else’s ideas or words and uses them as your own without providing proper credit to the source.

Source: Purdue Owl

Remember

Organize your research. Find a system that works for you. We recommend Zotero and we offer a workshop on exactly that.
Paraphrase, summarize, quote and most importantly, CITE your sources.
Use a plagiarism checker like Grammarly or Turnitin. Note that Turnitin is available in Blackboard only if your instructor has set it up.

5 Types of Plagiarism Video

Plagiarism Handout

Library & Information Services