The Louisa H. Bowen University Archives & Unique Collections department documents the human history of the occupants of Southwestern Illinois by preserving the manuscripts and personal papers of individuals and the records of organizations. Many of our collections of manuscripts and personal papers and collections of organizational records relate to Madison County and St. Clair County, Illinois. These collections vary greatly in terms of format, volume and subject.
Researchers are encouraged to review the digital guides or inventories that describe the content of our various manuscript collections and organizational records by clicking on finding aids. In order to enable us to make available materials of interest to you, the researcher, you will need to provide us with the name of the collection(s) of interest to you, the container number and the file folder title. We are pleased to retrieve materials from remote storage for your examination once we have received this information.
Please contact us if you need assistance in interpreting the digitized finding aids, if you do not see what you had hoped to find, or if you require assistance with any other aspect of the research process. If we do not hold the historical information resources that you are seeking, we may be able to refer you to another repository that does.
Lovejoy Library is engaged in a long-term effort to arrange, describe, preserve, digitize, and publish an online edition of the personal papers and writings of Dr. Eugene B. Redmond, poet laureate of East St. Louis, Illinois. Inquiries regarding the Eugene B. Redmond Collection should be direct to Ms. Lydia Jackson, Associate Dean of Library & Information Services (ljackso@siue.edu).
