The Louisa H. Bowen University Archives & Unique Collections department includes both the Rare Book Collection and several other named collections of books and monographs. All the titles in these book collections are included and described in the library’s online public access catalog. It is important to pay attention to the location stated as part of the catalog record in order to find where the item of interest to you is physically shelved. Researcher requests to access these works for study should be directed to the University Archivist & Unique Collections Librarian.
The multiple criteria used in the selection of works for inclusion in the Rare Book Collection include assessment of enduring informational and evidentiary value; physical and intrinsic characteristics; age; market value; and condition. While a small portion of the titles in the Rare Book Collection were obtained via purchase, many initially resided in the stacks and circulated freely. Over the decades, thousands of items matching the selection criteria were identified and designated as Rare. The Rare Book Collection embraces a variety of topics and genres but is strongest with respect to regional history and the history of the state of Illinois. Rare Books may be studied by researchers but do not circulate.
The Regional Collection consists of a portion of the library’s holdings of works concerning the history of Madison County, St. Clair County, and Southwestern Illinois. These titles are shelved in Lovejoy Library and may be checked out to patrons. Requests should be directed to the University Archivist & Unique Collections Librarian.
While working as the librarian at SIUE’s East St. Louis Center, the late Ina Peabody Sledge selected hundreds of books and monographs about African Americans and the African American experience. These titles are shelved in remote storage but may be checked out by patrons. Requests should be directed to the University Archivist & Unique Collections Librarian.
During his long career as a teacher and SIUE administrator, former SIUE President Earl Lazerson amassed a substantial collection of books and monographs about the subject of mathematics. The Earl Lazerson Collection of mathematics titles does not circulate. Arrangements to examine these titles may be made by contacting the University Archivist & Unique Collections Librarian.
During his teaching career as a member of the SIUE Historical Studies faculty, Dr. Thomas M. Jordan acquired numerous books and monographs pertaining to the history of Latin America, Brazil, Cuba, and Mexico. The items in the Thomas M. Jordan Collection do not circulate. Arrangements to examine these titles may be made by contacting the University Archivist & Unique Collections Librarian.
General background information regarding rare and older books and their value may be accessed through the website of the Rare Books & Manuscripts Section of the Association of College & Research Libraries. To view this information, click on Your Old Books.
