Skip to Main Content

Library & Information Services Sub Menu Dismiss

Biological Sciences: Find Articles

Resources for Biology Students

Recommended Resources

Use these biology databases to find scholarly articles.

Open Access Articles

Access scientific research online, free of charge, and free of licensing restrictions.

Free Databases

Full-Text Articles

Some of the databases on this page, including Scopus, will provide links to full-text articles. Look for a link that says Find FUll Text (SFX).  Click on this link to be guided to the full-text article if available.


IPBES

IPBES was established in 2012 by more than 100 governments, and its membership has continued to grow as IPBES' impact has increased.

Who can become a member?
All States Members of the United Nations are eligible for IPBES membership, with a large number of NGOs, organisations, conventions and civil society groupings participating in the formal IPBES process as observers.

Why become a member?
To strengthen knowledge foundations for better policy through science, for the conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity, long-term human well-being and sustainable development.

How to become a member?
Should your Government wish to join IPBES, all that is required is for this intention to be officially communicated to the IPBES secretariat, by way of a formal letter, issued by or on behalf of the authority that would normally issue credentials for your national delegation to participate in a session of the IPBES Plenary, in other words by your Head of State or Government or minister for foreign affairs, consistent with your national policies and law.

Help

Database Search Tips

1. Consider Boolean searching--combining your terms with AND, OR, NOT.

Example--in Scopus.

2. Consider truncating. Most databases allow for finding variations of terms by using the symbol *. This ensures that variations of terms will appear--teen* will result in teen, teens, teenage, teenager, etc.

3. Use search limits on the left-hand side of your results page to narrow results by year, author, subject area, document type, and other criteria.

Example--in Scopus. In ScienceDirect.

4. Use the FIND FULL TEXT feature in Scopus to see if an article is available online or in the library.

Find Full Text Screenshot

5. Try sorting search results by relevance rather than date to retrieve the articles that matched your search terms first.

You can find the sort by option on the upper right-hand side of your results page.

6. If you find an article that you like, use the Citations feature in Scopus to find articles that have cited that particular article. The last column of the search results page shows the number of citing articles. Simply click the linked number to go to those citing articles.

7. Review your results list and modify your search, if necessary, using terms you find in your results.