Biological Sciences: Course Page: Biology 501

Resources for Biology Students

Welcome!

Find Research Articles

Agricola This link opens in a new window
All aspects of biological science and agriculture.
CONTENTS: citations, abstracts. COVERAGE: over 3 million citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials and technical reports related to agriculture. DATES: 1970+ UPDATES: daily. VENDOR: National Agriculture Library.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
All aspects of human impact to the environment
CONTENTS: index, abstracts. COVERAGE: 384,000+ records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 items. DATES: varies. UPDATES: varies. VENDOR: EBSCO.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
All subjects
CONTENTS: citations, abstracts, text, images. COVERAGE: complete archive of 169 major research journals. DATES: varies. UPDATES: daily. VENDOR: JSTOR.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare systems, and preclinical sciences
CONTENTS: citations, abstracts, text. COVERAGE: 4,500 biomedical journals, magazines, newspapers, and newsletters. DATES: 1966+. UPDATES: Tuesday and Saturday. VENDOR: National Library of Medicine.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine
CONTENTS: citations, text, abstracts. COVERAGE: access to more than 300 SAGE online journals from volume 1, issue 1 (Backfile), as well as current access to 450+ titles (Premier). DATES: 1998. UPDATES: monthly. VENDOR: Sage.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
All subjects
CONTENTS: citations, abstracts, text. COVERAGE: 1700+ journals with 870+ in full text. DATES: 1995+. UPDATES: daily. VENDOR: Elsevier.
Terms of Use
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Mathematics and statistics, as well as sciences, medicine, social sciences and education articles.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection includes indexing for over 21,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals); over 205,000 conference proceedings; and over 104,000 editorially selected books.
Discover the citation connections between these diverse content sets. Explore the more than one billion searchable cited references in Web of Science.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Business, education, engineering, science, social science, humanities and arts
CONTENTS: citations, abstracts, text. COVERAGE: Over 1,300 journals and 400 books in full text. DATES: most titles from 1997-. UPDATES: daily VENDOR: Wiley.

eJournals by Title
Search Lovejoy Library's full text online journal list.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Zotero

Zotero allows users to:

1. Gather, store, manage, and share references or citations.

2. Generate bibliographies in numerous citation formats such as APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.

3. Store references online and have accessibility to them wherever internet access is available.

Zotero
Zotero is a free reference management platform designed to collect, store, share, manage and cite sources.
Zotero guide
A guide that explains how to use Zotero for research.

STEM/Health Sciences Librarian

Shelly McDavid -- STEM

Email Me

Contact:

Lovejoy Library
Room 1038

(618)650-2377

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science & Information Technology, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Mathematics, Physics

Identify a Topic

Nature
"International weekly journal of science"
Science
Publication of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (ASSS)
ScienceDirect Top 25 Hottest Articles
Browse the most used biological and environmental articles in ScienceDirect.
ResearchBlogging
Blogs featuring peer-reviewed research
ScienceSeeker
"Science news from science newsmakers"
Ecological Society of America
Check a professional organization that matches your interest and look for conference proceedings or journals.

Search Strategy Worksheet

Fill in your search strategy, take notes on relevancy, and document future research.

Guided Searching Handout

Library & Information Services