Skip to Main Content

Library & Information Services Sub Menu Dismiss

RSS Feeds for Research: How to Create Feeds in Databases

This guide provides an introduction to the use of RSS feeds for scholarly research as well as steps on creating RSS feeds in popular library databases.

RSS in Databases

More databases are providing a way to create RSS feeds or alerts for specific searches. The set of directions varies in each database but terms to look for include RSS, alert and saved search.

In some databases you may be required to create a personal account before setting up an RSS feed. This is always free and consists of a few simple steps.

RSS Alternatives: Email Alerts

In addition to providing ways to create RSS feeds to view in feed readers such as Bloglines, several databases also offer the option of being alerted by email when an article that meets your search criteria is added to its collection. Instead of checking your feed reader account, these alerts will be send directly to your email account. The alerts usually feature a link to the full text article.

You can usually dictate how often you would like to be alerted about new articles (every week, once a month) so that you don't get overwhelmed with information.

Additional Databases with RSS Feed Generators

RSS in EBSCO

Instructions on creating an alert, or RSS feed, in EBSCO databases

Click here for a list of the Lovejoy Library's EBSCO databases.

 

 

 

RSS in CSA

Creating an RSS feed in CSA databases (Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, PAIS International, Philosopher's Index, Physical Education Index).

RSS in ProQuest

Creating an RSS feed in ProQuest databases (ABI/INFORM Complete, Criminal Justice Periodicals, Historical New York Times, Hoover's Company Records, Newsstand, Safari Tech Books Online).