Skip to main content

Library & Information Services Sub Menu Dismiss

Movie Reviews: Databases

This guide offers suggestions in locating movie reviews.

Introduction

Many Library databases include movie reviews.  Instructions are provided to locate movie reviews after each database on this page.

Selective Databases

Most general and subject-specific electronic journal indexes and databases provide access to movie reviews. The search strategy for finding reviews may vary depending on the database. It may be possible to find articles that can be accessed online although many databases do not cover journals published prior to 1990.

Academic Search Complete and Newspaper Source (EBSCOHost)

Enter title of the movie (film) in first search box and search in Default Fields.  Limit your results to film reviews by selecting "Entertainment Review" from the Document Type menu.

In Advanced search format type:
   Shakespeare in Love (All fields)
   AND Reviews (change All fields to Subject)

Communications and Mass Media Complete

Limit your search to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) journals"

Subject terms to add to your search film: motion pictures

LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe

Select the "Subject Areas" tab on left side of window, then select"Consumer Information", then from the Select Source box, select "Book, movie, music,and play reviews."  Enter your search terms making sure to select date range that covers your movie's original release date.

Historical New York Times

Enter the title of the reviewed movie in the first search box and search as "Citation and document text."  In the second search box enter "review" and search as "Document type," then click search.

MLA International  Bibliography

Index to international journals and books with an emphasis on critical studies or cinema not specific movie reviews.

Limit to "peer reviewed"

Subject terms to add to your search: film or type in the movie title; add the director's last name if known.