Plagiarism: Citing Sources

This guide provides a comprehensive overview of plagiarism, its consequences, with emphasis on resources for prevention.

Citation Styles

Choose a citation style to learn more about citing your sources!

Formats for Citing

The following style manuals are available in Lovejoy Library's collections.

(AMA Style) AMA Manual of Style : A Guide for Authors and Editors. 10th ed. 2007
Call Number: R119 .A533 2007

Copies in Ready Reference, Reference, and book collections. Online access is also available to SIUE users.
(APA Style) Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. 6th ed. 2010. by American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2010

Latest in Ready Reference. Additional copies available in the Reference and book collection.
Style Manual for Political Science by American Political Science Association (Prepared for Publication by)
Call Number: JA86.A483 2006

ISBN: 1878147625

Publication Date: 2018-11-01
(Chicago Manual Style) The Chicago Manual of Style. 15th ed. 2003. by University of Chicago Press
Call Number: Z253 .C58

Latest in Ready Reference. Additional copies available in the reference and book collections. Online access is also available to SIUE users.
(MLA Style) MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 7th ed. 2009. by Modern Language Association
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2009
(MLA Style) MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing. 3rd ed. 2008. by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: PN147 .G444 2008

Copy in the Ready Reference and Reference collection.
(Scientific Style) Scientific Style and Format: The CBE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers. 6th ed. 1994. by Style Manual Committee, Council of Biology Editors.
Call Number: T11 .S3861994

Copy in Reference Collection.
(Turabian Style) A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations. 7th ed. 2007. by University of Chicago Press
Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2007

Copy in Ready Reference and Music Reserves collection.

Zotero

Zotero allows users to:

1. Gather, store, manage, and share references or citations.

2. Generate bibliographies in numerous citation formats such as APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.

3. Store references online and have accessibility to them wherever internet access is available.

Zotero
Zotero is a free reference management platform designed to collect, store, share, manage and cite sources.
Zotero guide
A guide that explains how to use Zotero for research.

Electronic Style Manuals

APA Style Format
Includes an outline format of how to cite using APA.
APA General Format (6th ed.)
Includes examples of how to cite using the American Psychological Association format.
Citing Internet and Electronic Resources
Provides style sheets for citing Internet and electronic resources.
MLA Style Format
Includes a description of citing sources based on the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.
MLA General Format
Lists examples of how to cite using the Modern Language Association format.
Online! Citation Styles
Provides examples of citation formats for various styles.
Research and Documentation Online
Provides examples of how to cite documentation from several subject disciplines.
Style Wizard
Creates the formatting for APA and MLA styles based on the citation information provided by the user.

Library & Information Services

Plagiarism: Citing Sources

Citation Styles

Citation Styles

Formats for Citing

Zotero

Zotero allows users to:

Electronic Style Manuals