Skip to Main Content

Library & Information Services Sub Menu Dismiss

Government Information Sources: Indexes&Catalogs

Guide to finding, using, and citing government information at the federal, state, and local levels

Indexes and catalogs of U.S. government publications

These selected resources index or list U.S. government information in various formats. Once you find a publication you are interested in, you can look for it in Lovejoy Library using the instructions in the "Home" tab in the box "Finding U.S. government publications in Lovejoy Library...".

indexes and catalogs

1774-1881 Poore, Benjamin Perley. A descriptive catalogue of the government publications of the United States, September 5, 1774-March 4, 1881.
SIUE US Document Index GP3.2:P74.
Also online.
1789-1909 Checklist of United States public documents 1789-1909: Congressional: to close of Sixtieth Congress; departmental: to end of calendar year 1909.
SIUE US Document Index GP3.2:789-909/.
Also online: Internet Archive, University of North Texas, Google Books, and AskCarlos.com.
1881-1893 Ames, John. Comprehensive Index to the Publications of the United States Government, 1881-1893.
SIUE US Document Index I 15.2:In2/2-3. (We hold Volume 2 only.)
Also online: both volumes, Volume 1, Volume 2
1893-1940 Catalogue of the Public Documents of the […] Congress and of All Departments of the Government of the United States.
SIUE US Document Index GP3.6: (We hold the entire set, 1893-1940, Vol. 1-25.)
Many volumes available from Google Books.
1900-1971 Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications 1900-1971.
SIUE US Document Index Z1223 .A18 1900-71
1902-2004 Monthly Catalog.
This print publication is the precursor to the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications. The University of Illinois has digitized most volumes 1895-1970.
SIUE US Document Index Z1223 .A18  (We hold most volumes, 1902-2004.)
July 1976- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications.
Most comprehensive catalog of U.S. government publications. More than 500,000 records; all formats; updated daily. Lovejoy Library holds many, but not all, of the publications in this catalog.
GPO, from OCLC, is a commercial version of this database.
various WorldCat.
This database provides records of almost 44,000 libraries in 86 countries, including many historical and current government publications.

Specialized indexes and catalogs

These specialized resources index or list U.S. government publications in various formats. Once you find a publication you are interested in, if full-text is not provided, you can look for it in Lovejoy Library using the instructions in the "Home" tab in the box "Finding U.S. government publications in Lovejoy Library...".

15th century-present AGRICOLA. U.S. Department of Agriculture. Serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information.
1988- Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals, a subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals.
1974-1980, 1983 American Statistics Index. Congressional Information Service. An index to statistical publications of the U.S. government.
SIUE Book Collection J69 .A42
1970-1997 CIS Annual. a.k.a. CIS Index. Congressional Information Service. An index to congressional publications.
SIUE US Document Index KF49 .C62
1789-1969 CIS Serial Set Index. Including the Index and Carto-Bibliography of Maps. Congressional Information Service.
SIUE US Document Index Z1223.Z9 C65 1975
1959-1969 CIS US congressional committee hearings index. Congressional Information Service.
SIUE US Document Index KF40 .C56 1981
1966- ERIC. Education and related topics
1964- NTIS. "Containing over 2.0 million bibliographic records, the NTIS Bibliographic Database is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments. [...] Contents include research reports, computer products, software, video cassettes, audio cassettes and more. The complete electronic file dates back to 1964. On average, NTIS adds over 30,000 new records per year to the Database. Most records include abstracts."
1972- PAIS International, global coverage of public and social policy, politics, and foreign affairs, including many government publications.
1966- PubMed. Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare systems, and preclinical sciences