Skip to Main Content
Federal Agencies having Statistical Programs
Lists of agencies running statistical programs
Federal agencies and sample statistical programs and datasets
Dept. of Agriculture
- U.S. Department of Agriculture. National Agricultural Statistical Service and George Mason. CropScape, hosting the "geospatial data product called the Cropland Data Layer".
Dept. of Commerce
Dept. of Education
Dept. of Health and Human Services
- Department of Health and Human Services. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.
- HCUPnet "on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization."
- Department of Health and Human Services. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (HE 20.7001: ff)
- Department of Health and Human Services. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. National Center for Health Statistics. (HE 20.6202: ff) the Federal government's principal health statistics agency. Data for policy makers on all aspects of health and health care.
- National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) "a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations. NHANES is a major program of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS). NCHS is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and has the responsibility for producing vital and health statistics for the Nation."
- National Vital Statistics System data and trends on U. S. births, deaths, marriages, divorces
- Department of Health and Human Services. National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) (HE 20.8100, etc.)
- Department of Health and Human Services. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. (HE 20.8000 ff, etc.) "SAMHSA [...] is the Federal Government's lead agency for improving the quality and availability of substance abuse prevention, addiction treatment, and mental health services in the United States." See the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive.
- National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH). "The National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH) provides national and state-level data on the use of tobacco, alcohol, illicit drugs (including non-medical use of prescription drugs) and mental health in the United States. NSDUH is sponsored by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), an agency of the U.S. Public Health Service in the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS)."
- Department of Health and Human Services. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. Center for Mental Health Services. Survey of Mental Health Organizations (SMHO).
Dept. of Justice
Dept. of Labor
- Department of Labor. Bureau of Labor Statistics.(L 2)
- Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages (QCEW) (commonly called the ES-202 program) "The QCEW program derives its data from quarterly tax reports submitted to State Employment Security Agencies by over eight million employers subject to State unemployment insurance (UI) laws and from Federal agencies subject to the Unemployment Compensation for Federal Employees (UCFE) program. This includes 99.7% of all wage and salary civilian employment. These reports provide information on the number of people employed and the wages paid to the employees each quarter. The program obtains information on the location and industrial activity of each reported establishment, and assigns location and standard industrial classification codes accordingly. This establishment level information is aggregated, by industry code, to the county level, and to higher aggregate levels."
Office of Management and Budget
- Office of Management and Budget. usaspending.gov "The Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act (FFATA) of 2006 requires that the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) establish a single searchable website, accessible to the public at no cost, which includes for each Federal award: the name of the entity receiving the award; the amount of the award; information on the award including transaction type, funding agency, etc; the location of the entity receiving the award; and a unique identifier of the entity receiving the award."
Statistical Compendia (Federal)
- FedStats data from 100+ federal agencies.
- Department of Commerce. Census Bureau. Statistical Abstract of the United States "comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States".
- Historical Statistics of the United States (Cambridge University Press) comprehensive, searchable collection of statistics, including 37,000+ data sets that can be downloaded.
- Department of Commerce. Census Bureau. County and City Databook 2007 crime, economy, education, housing, income & poverty, labor force, trade, education and more for cities and counties in the US.
- Department of Commerce. Census Bureau. USA Counties "features over 6,500 data items for the United States, States and counties from a variety of sources. Files include data published for 2008 estimates and many items from the 2000 Census of Population and Housing, the 1990 census, the 1980 census and the 2002, 1997, 1992, 1987, 1982 and 1977 economic censuses. Information in USA Counties is derived from the following general topics: age, agriculture, ancestry, banking, building permits, business patterns, crime, earnings, education, elections, employment, government, health, households, housing, income, labor force, manufactures, population, poverty, retail trade, social programs, veterans, vital statistics, water use, and wholesale trade."
- Department of Commerce. Census Bureau. State and Metropolitan Area Data Book crime, economy, education, housing, income & poverty, labor force, trade, education and more for US states and metropolitan areas.
- Department of Commerce. Census Bureau. American FactFinder population, housing, economic and geographic data.
- Department of Education. Office of Special Education Programs. Data Accountability Center. "public access to data about children and youth with disabilities served under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA)".
- Department of Education. National Center for Education Statistics. Digest of Education Statistics provides "a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school."
- Department of Health and Human Services. Community Health Status Indicators. "An overview of key health indicators for local communities".
- Department of Health and Human Services. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. CDC Wonder. public health data.
- Department of Health and Human Services. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. National Center for Health Statistics. Health Data Interactive. "provides tables on health of Americans of all ages by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and geographic location."
- Department of Health and Human Services. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. National Center for Health Statistics. Health, United States. national trends in health statistics.
- Department of Health and Human Services. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. National Center for Health Statistics. VitalStats. "provides tables, data files, and reports that allow users to access and examine vital statistics and population data interactively."
- Department of Health and Human Services. Health Resources and Services Administration. Child Health USA. "the Health Resources and Services Administration's annual report on the health status and service needs of America's children. The book is a compilation of secondary data for many health status indicators, and provides both graphical and textual summaries of data and addresses long-term trends."
- Department of Health and Human Services. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. Drug and Alcohol Services Information System (DASIS).
- Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics. ChildStats.gov: Forum on Child and Family Statistics. "This website offers easy access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health. The Forum fosters coordination, collaboration, and integration of Federal efforts to collect and report data on conditions and trends for children and families."
- Oregon Health & Science University and Department of Health and Human Services. Health Resources and Services Administration. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health. provides access to data from the National Survey of Children's Health (2007, 2003) and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (2005/06, 2001).
- Department of Justice. Bureau of Justice Statistics and University at Albany, School of Criminal Justice, Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center in Albany, New York. Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics "brings together data from more than 200 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. It has been compiled by the Utilization of Criminal Justice Statistics Project since 1973 and is funded by the U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Statistics."
Indexes and Guides to Federal Statistics
- American statistics index. Index to statistics produced by the U.S. government. At Lovejoy Library
