Skip to Main Content

Library & Information Services Sub Menu Dismiss

Global Resources: Finding Articles

This guide provides information resources for global study.

General Databases

Academic Search Complete: Covers a wide range of academic subjects. Features full text for selected journals, abstracts and indexing for over 3,600 scholarly journals.

Directory of Open Access Journals

JSTOR: Includes long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals of Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, History, Political Science, Population Studies, and Sociology.

Humanities International Complete:Indexes articles in the fields of Archaeology and Classical Studies, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Communications, Language, Literature, Literary and Political Criticism, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion, etc.


Global Information Research Databases

ERIC: Covers education and related topics.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service): Index to political, economic, & social issues in current debate. Covers public & social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, & other social sciences.

Scopus:  Covers 16,000+ journals. patents, and websites.  Coverage is mainly from 1995 on with limited earlier coverage.  Searchable by cited reference (forward citation searching).  Scientific, technical and medical information, engineering, social sciences, arts and humanities.

SocIndex with Full Text:  SocINDEX™ with Full Text is a social sciences research database, covering a wide spectrum of disciplines. It offers in-depth coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Social Work Abstracts:  Covers social work and related disciplines.