Marketing 476: Analyst Reports

This guide provides resources to help users researching company's and business topics abroad.

SWOT Analysis or Five Forces Analysis Reports

The databases below are great places to find SWOT reports, which provide additional insight into a company.

SWOT : Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats

"...A framework for identifying the internal strengths (S) and weaknesses (W) of a firm, and the external opportunities (O) open to it and the threats (T) it faces, which can be used by corporate planners in formulating the firm's competitive strategy and marketing strategy in individual product markets and its overall business strategy." - Collins Dictionary of Business

Use the information found in SWOT reports to search for additional articles that might go into more depth.

Analyst Reports or Financial News Databases

Business Source Elite
1. Search for your company.
2. In the results page, refine the search on the left. Under the Publication Type section, select SWOT Analysis.
EDGAR
Search for company filings and forms from the Securities and Exchange Commission. Also allows you to search the full text of annual reports and filings from 1994-present.
Mergent Online
Contains company analyst reports as part of a detailed company profile.
Nexis Uni
Contains company analyst reports, along with other company data and news.

1. On the homepage, click Advanced Search (right underneath the big search box).
2. Under the search box click Select a specific content type.
3. Under Company and Financial select Company Profiles.
4. Scroll down the screen and enter the company name in the Company Name field. To limit to only SWOT reports, under the Publication box enter SWOT.
5. Click Search
6. View the results (you can sort by date if you would like, along with more options on the left).
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Provides access to extensive market commentary, independent investment analysis, up-to-date news and data on a broad range of asset classes. It includes Stock and Fund Reports and Industry Surveys
Value Line
Provides company profiles focusing on finances and investments.

Library & Information Services

Marketing 476: Analyst Reports

SWOT Analysis or Five Forces Analysis Reports

Analyst Reports or Financial News Databases