Communication: Find Electronic & Video Resources

This guide provides information about Applied Communication Studies and Mass Communications library resources.

E-Books

E-book Collection Sources for Communication

Reference Communication E-books

Digital LIS Collections

The following LIS Digital Collections provide historic SIUE publications (primary sources) that shed light on the history of the University.

Alumnus Magazine (SIUE )1973 - 1997.

Muse Yearbooks (SIUE), 1958 - 1971.

Observer Newsletter (SIUE), 1978 - 1999.

Other Digital LIS Collections and Exhibits.

Streamed Videos

Alexander Street Press

http://siue.libguides.com/aspvideo

Counseling and Therapy in Video, Vol. 1 & 2

Education in Video

Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. 1

Filmakers Library

New World Cinema:

Independent Features and Shorts: 1990 - Present

Nursing Education in Video

Kanopy (Video Streaming Service)

Kanopy (Video Streaming Service)
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for libraries and educational institutions that provides users, students, faculty and staff access to a large collection of films.
more...less...
1) Select the Subject area at the top left when in Kanopy to get started or 2) Type a film title to see if it is available. Films and film clips can be embedded into Blackboard or presentations. See the Kanopy Libguide for more information!
Kanopy Libguide
Provides helpful information about the Kanopy video streaming service.
more...less...
Also explains how to embed films and film clips in Blackboard and in educational presentations.

Selected Communication-Related Websites

American Archive of Public Broadcasting
A Library of Congress and WGBH in Boston project to "preserve for posterity the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years."
PBS NewsHour Digitization Project
Includes 32 years of PBS NewsHour’s predecessor programs, including The Robert MacNeil Report, The MacNeil/Lehrer Report, The MacNeil/Lehrer NewsHour, and The NewsHour with Jim Lehrer. Broadcast programs (from 1975 through December 2007)
more...less...
More than 9,000 existing transcripts for the entire 40 years of programs (1975-present) will be made available. Funded by the Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR). A collaborative project between WGBH, the Library of Congress, Washington Educational Television Association (WETA), and NewsHour Productions, LLC. (Project Website)
UCLA Film & Television Archive
"Established in 1965, the Archive is the second-largest repository of motion pictures and broadcast programming in the United States, after the Library of Congress, and the world's largest university-held collection. More than 520,000 holdings of films, television programs, news footage and radio recordings are conserved in a state-of-the-art facility in Santa Clarita, California." (Archive website)
more...less...
"Committed to the collection, preservation and restoration, and exhibition of moving images."(Archive website)
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
"The world's most extensive and complete archive of television news.... providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004)." (VTNA website)
more...less...
Abstracts are searchable and videos may be requested via interlibrary loan.

SPARK (SIUE Institutional Repository)

SPARK (Scholarly Publications and Repository of Knowledge) is SIUE's institutional repository. Check this growing open access resource begun in 2014.

Some resources within SPARK that you may find interesting and relevant are the following:

Applied Communication Studies Faculty Research, Scholarship and Creative Activity

College of Arts and Sciences

University Archives and Special Collections

SIUE Academic Catalogs: SIUE Undergraduate Catalogs from 1957- 2005.

Legal Information Websites

OYEZ (ITT Chicago-Kent College of Law)
Provides U.S. Supreme Court Cases by Term (year), U.S. Supreme Court Justices, a Tour of the U.S. Supreme Court, and News of recent legal events and decisions.
more...less...
For copyright case information, see: https://www.oyez.org/issues/282

Copyright Information Websites

Copyright Term and Public Domain in the U.S. (Cornell University)
Useful public domain chart by categories.
Copyright and Fair Use (Stanford University)
Extensive website on the topic! Also includes summaries of recent copyright court case decisions.

Business E-Resources

See the Business Information Resources LibGuide for useful Business-related Resources.

Other online sources

Here are a few of the many other online resources that can help in communication research:

Dissertations & Theses @ SIUE
Net Advantage (Standard & Poor's --Industry Surveys)
U.S. Documents and Maps
Internet Search: Google and Google Scholar

Library & Information Services