| Collection Name | Floor | Access | Circulates? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alton Book Collection | Alton 1 | Open stacks | Yes |
| Alton Desk Reference | Alton 1 | Ask at Circulation Desk | No |
| Alton Journal Collection | Alton B, 1 | Open stacks | Yes (older items) |
| Alton Microfilm | Alton B | Open stacks | No |
| Alton Oversize | Alton 1 | Open stacks | Yes |
| Alton Reference | Alton 1 | Open stacks | No |
| Alton Reserves | Alton 1 | Ask at Circulation Desk | Yes |
| Archives | B | Ask at Archives | No |
| Book | 1, 2, 3 | Open stacks | Yes |
| A-C | 2, Northwest | Open stacks | Yes |
| D-K | 2, North | Open stacks | Yes |
| L,N,P | 3, Northwest | Open stacks | Yes |
| M | 1, Southeast | Open stacks | Yes |
| Q-T | 3, Southwest | Open stacks | Yes |
| U-Z | 3, East | Open stacks | Yes |
| Browsing Collection | 1 | Open stacks | Yes |
| Children | 3 | Open stacks | Yes |
| Curriculum Material | 3 | Open stacks | Yes |
| Dissertation | 3 | Open stacks | Yes |
| Jazz Archives | 1 | Ask at Music | No |
| Journal Collection | 2 | Open stacks | Yes (to faculty only) |
| Map | 2 | Open stacks | Yes |
| Media | 1 |
Open Stacks - DVD/VHS-1st floor |
Yes |
| Microfiche | 1 | Open stacks | No |
| Microfilm | 1 | Open stacks | No |
| MLR CD | 1 | Ask at Music | Yes |
| MLR CD Reference | 1 | Ask at Music | No |
| MLR Jazz Archives | 1 | Ask at Music | No |
| MLR Recording Ref | 1 | Open stacks | No |
| MLR Recordings | 1 | Open stacks | Yes |
| MLR Research | B | Ask at Music | No |
| MLR Reserves | 1 | Ask at Music | No |
| MLR Score | 1 | Open stacks | Yes |
| Music Reference | 1 | Ask at Music | No |
| MLR Score | 1 | Ask at Music | No |
| Online Resources | Internet | Internet Access | Internet |
| Oversize Book (Folio) | 2 | Open stacks | Yes |
| Pharmacy Drug Information and Wellness Center | DIWC - Pharmacy Building | Ask at DIWC | No |
| Rare Book | 2 | Ask at Information Desk | No |
| Rare Oversize Collection | 2 | Ask at Information Desk | No |
| Rare Map | 2 | Ask at Information Desk | No |
| Reference | 1 | Open stacks | No |
| Regional/Research | B | Ask at Archives | No |
| Research | B | Ask at Archives | No |
| Reserves | 1 | Ask at Circulation Desk | Yes |
| Secure Book | 1 | Ask at Circulation Desk | Yes |
| SIUE Author | B | Ask at Archives | No |
| Storage | Remote | Ask at Circulation Desk | Some items |
| Thesis | 3 | Open stacks | Yes |
| U.S. Document | 3 | Open stacks | Yes |
| U.S. Document CD | 2 | Ask at Multimedia Workroom | No |
| U.S. Document Microfiche | 2 | Open stacks | No |
Library of Congress Classification
Most library materials is classified according to the Library of Congress Subject Headings, often referred to as "LC." Each subject heading has subheadings. For example, the R Subject represents Medicine. Any nursing material would be shelved under the category of RT.
Following is a general breakdown of subject classification areas:
A General Works
B Philosophy
C History and Auxilary Science
D History (except America)
E-F History & Geography of the Americas
G Geography and Anthropology
H Social Science
J Political Science
K Law
L Education
M Music
N Fine Arts
P Language and Literature
Q Science
R Medicine
S Agriculture, Plant and Animal Industry
T Technology
U Military Science
V Naval Science
Z Books in General
View a detailed outline of the Library of Congress headings and subheadings here.
